Tohoshinki – Doushite Kimi wo Suki ni Natte Shimattandarou? (a J!-ENT World Groove CD Single Review)

July 24, 2008 by · 4 Comments 

“Each time I hear a ballad from Tohoshinki, I’m always struck by the lyrics and the vocals. Their latest ballad ‘Doushite Kimi wo Suki ni Natte Shimattandarou?’ is another song that has captured my attention like their past ballads and have listened to a jillion times. It’s that awesome!”

BAND: Tohoshinki

CD SINGLE: Doushite Kimi wo Suki ni Natte Shimattandarou?

LABEL: rhythmzone



RELEASE DATE: February 6, 2008

  1. Doushite Kimi wo Suki ni Natte Shimattandarou?
  2. Box in the ship
  3. Doushite Kimi wo Suki ni Natte Shimattandarou? (Less Vocal)
  4. Box in the ship (Less Vocal)

DVD: Region 2, 4:3, Duration: 4 minutes

  1. Doushite Kimi wo Suki ni Natte Shimattandarou? Music Video

It’s really interesting when it comes to Tohoshinki ballads. I thought “Begin” was the ultimate ballad by them and then came “Forever Love” and now here is their 2008 ballad “Doushite Kimi wo Suki ni Natte Shimattandarou?” that is pretty much about losing someone you love and then standing there during that person’s wedding to another person and questioning yourself “why?”.

The CD single has reached #1 on the Oricon Daily Charts on its debut and within a week, people around the world were posting videos online of them playing the song on piano or singing to the song. The song is quite is highly enjoyable and it’s definitely one of their must-own titles yet.

The song is quite short, the beat quite simple but the power of the song is the vocals by Tohoshinki. Each member does great vocally, especially Junsu and Changmin during the high parts of the song.

The coupling track “Box in the ship” is a summer song with a Carribean feel to it. A fun, uptempo track which is cool.

The DVD that accompanies this CD single version is just awesome and truthfully, I recommend the DVD version of this single because it’s a music video that is truly centered around the song. It’s a drama version that features a woman telling her ex-boyfriend that she is getting married and the guy at the wedding asking himself “why?” and just feeling the sadness and loneliness of losing someone that he loves to another guy.

A very touching video. Otherwise, if you purchase the regular CD single version, like most Tohoshinki CD singles (non-DVD versions), you do get the a capella versions of the songs.

The CD single insert booklet (tri-fold) features lyrics and production credits on one side and the other side featuring a photo of the guys and the track listing.  Inside the insert is a rhythmzone flyer promoting artists releases for July 2008.

This CD single is definitely a must-buy! If you are a fan of Tohoshinki or a guy (or girl) who just loves slow jam or can relate to the heartwrenching song, it’s one of their best tracks to come from the group and like “Begin” and “Forever Love”, can easily be listened to over and over many times because it’s that good.

As for which version to get, that depends on you but I prefer the DVD version because the music video for “Doushite Kimi wo Suki ni Natte Shimattandarou?” is just as powerful as the song.

A superb slow jam and I highly recommend this CD single!