“E”qual – 7 Days (a J!-ENT World Groove Album Review)

May 19, 2011 by  

“E”qual’s “7 days” album is a one man tour-de-force of beats and rhymes.

ARTIST: “E”qual


LABEL: Columbia Music entertainment/Harlem Recordings



RELEASE DATE: September 27, 2006


7 Days / "E"qual

  1. My name is…
  2. Intro~Prologue (“E”qual Feat. Jack Herer)
  3. I.C.E.B.E.R.G. (クエルボ O’clock) (“E”qual Feat. Adya)
  4. Baby, Baby (“E”qual Feat. JAY’ED)
  5. Dress code (“E”qual Feat. YA-KYIM)
  6. “E”d up from the feet up
  7. You gotta be like that
  8. 7 Days
  9. Skit~Message
  10. The Rock Diamonds (“E”qual Feat. BALLERS)
  11. Let’s go (“E”qual Feat. HI-D)
  12. The sky is the limit
  13. M.O.S.A.D. is forever (“E”qual Feat. TOKONA-X, AKIRA, 來々)

Before listening to “E”qual’s “7 Days” album, I received some advice, listen to what the artist has to say.

So, listen I did and I have to say that I enjoyed what “E”qual had to say and how he did it.

With the BEATS. The “7 Days” album was composed entirely by “E”qual. This allows “E”qual’s voice, lyrically and production-wise shine. With that being said the album has a consistent feel to it and held my interest for the most part.

The highlight of this album was the beats.

“E”qual has variety in the beats that he composes. Those beats helped him and company deliver their lyrics and kept me interested and listening for the next track. They were quite a few tracks that I returned to for seconds and thirds but the tracks “I.C.E.B.E.R.G.”, “Baby, baby”, “7 Days”, “Message”, “The Rock Diamonds” and” The Sky is the Limit” were among the ones that caught me beat wise and lyrically.

“E”qual definitely wants you to move and bump this in your music players. His attention to production and lyrics are testament to that. There is enough variety in his subject matter to not make you feel like you are listening to the same songs over and over again.

“7 Days” comes with a CD insert booklet with 20-pages featuring lyrics, liner notes and production credits and two pages of photos featuring “E”qual.

In the future I look forward to “E”qual’s take on the more conscious sides of life.

So, if you are looking for some Japanese Hip Hop with the added bonus of hearing one production style and an album that doesn’t sound like a beat sampler, listen to “E”qual’s “7 Days” album.

Hopefully, E’qual’s beats and lyrics will keep you motivated to bob your head.


7 Days / "E"qual


General Disclaimer:

J!-ENT has not received any compensation from the company for this post. J!-ENT has no material connection to the brands, products, or services that are mentioned in this post.

For Product Reviews:

For product reviews, J!-ENT has purchased the above product for review purposes or may have received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free by the company which in no way affects our reviews, may it be positive or negative. We only recommend products or services we have tested/reviewed and believe will be good for our readers.

For Advertising:

Some of the links in our posts are "affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, J!-ENT will receive an affiliate commission.

J!-ENT is disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”