AKB48 – Green Flash (Type-S) (a J!-ENT World Groove CD Single Review)

April 6, 2015 by  


“Green Flash” Type-S is a good single but having been spoiled by many other AKB48 CD+DVD releases, I was hoping for more. Overall, if you can find this CD+DVD cheap, then “Green Flash (Type-S) is worth checking out! Otherwise, if all you want is the music, then go for the theater edition release which is much cheaper.


CD SINGLE: Green Flash (Type-S)

LABEL: King Records


DURATION: 25 Minutes

RELEASE DATE: March 4, 2015



  1. Green Flash – AKB48
  2. ヤンキーロック
  3. 世界が泣いてるなら – SKE48
  4. Green Flash off vocal ver.
  5. ヤンキーロック off vocal ver.
  6. 世界が泣いてるなら off vocal ver.

DVD INFO: 16:9 LB, Region 2, Duration: 12:58

1. Green Flash Music Video
2. ヤンキーロック Music Video – Dance ver.
3. 世界が泣いてるなら Music Video
4. キスまでカウントダウン Music Video

For 2015, AKB48 kicks off the year with their 39th CD single “Green Flash”.

While it caused concern for fans that it only sold 860,269 copies on the first day (which is excellent in today’s Japanese music industry, but for AKB48, it was nowhere near a million copies). But the fans came out purchasing in the singles final days of the week as AKB48 would sell 1,001,393 and would become the group’s 20th consecutive million selling single (21 overall).

The single also made Japanese music history of surpassing Hamasaki Ayumi’s 25 consecutive #1 singles on the Oricon Charts, as “Green Flash” was AKB48’s 26th.

For this latest single, there are nine different versions.  The limited edition features four members with their eyes closed and a tear running down their eye, while the regular edition has four members with their eyes open, with a tear running down their eye.  The theater edition would feature Kojima Haruna (KojiHaru) and Kashiwagi Yuki (Yukirin), the two primary centers for the single and a single that would feature Yukirin as a center for the first time.

The version I will be reviewing is Type-S featuring Takahashi Minami (Takamina), Yamamoto Sayaka (Sayanee), Shimazaki Haruka (Paruru) and Kawaei Rena on the front cover with their eyes open and a tear running down.   The quad-fold insert features the members standing and the four members looking to their left or right.  The other side features lyrics for the three songs and production credits.

The song kicks off with “Green Flash”.  The song features sung lyrics but also a rap segment.  But as lively as this may sound, this uptempo song starts off pretty sad as the song is about saying goodbye to someone you love.  A relationship that is broken and missing and loving that person, but not receiving that same love back.  But as the song starts off sad, it transitions to hope as the person who is hurt, should move forward and not look back.

As for what “Green Flash” means, it’s about how the person watched an old French film and saw the sun sinking down low and behind a green light.

The song actually started to grow on me and I absolutely enjoyed Takamina and Sayanee’s rap portion of the song.

The second track is “Yankee Rock”, which is the ending theme to the AKB48 drama “Majisuka Gakuen”.  The song is a rock-inspired upbeat track.  The song is, as one can expect from a ynakee (girl’s gang) drama, about fighting.    Getting ready with Yankee Rock and the fists fly and dance with kicks.

The third track is “Haru no Hikari Chikadzuita Natsu” (which translates to “Spring Light, Approaching Summer”) performed by SKE48 and is another upbeat track about one-sided love.  The other person is the spring light, the other is summer and if they meet, anything can happen.  And when the two mix, they form the color of love.  But in reality, the person wants to speak to that other person, but is unable to.

The remaining three tracks are the instrumental version of the first three songs.

As for the accompanying DVD, there are a total of three DVD tracks.

The first DVD track features members of AKB48 that are sad and crying.  Meanwhile, other members of AKB48 are dressed in green and sit atop a building and look out toward the sunset.  As the tearful members run, we see flashbacks of these members when they were happy or when they were saddened to see guys they like with another girl.  Meanwhile, the sad members run and join the others on the rooftop and laugh and smile.

The second track “Yankee Rock” features the cast of “Majisuka Gakuen 4” and the various gangs, while we see scenes from the drama series.

For “Haru no Hikari Chikadzuita Natsu”, the music video features female students (members of SKE48) being interrogated by an investigator for drugging their teacher (who they all like) and drugging him, so they can take a photo with him and members being committed to an asylum.

It’s important to note that this is a region 2 DVD and will not play on a region 1 player (unless you have a non-region DVD player) but can be played on a MAC or PC using free video playing software such as VLC or Daum PotPlayer.

Overall, “Green Flash” is  CD single that I enjoyed but as a CD+DVD soundtrack, it was underwhelming as AKB48 single releases tend to give you much more and in essence, more bang for your buck. There is no special fourth video track and as many CD singles tend to be over a half hour and at times over an hour, this one is less than 13 minutes long.

Personally, if you wanted just the music, you can save money and purchase the theater edition.  But if you want the music videos, then purchase Type-S if you are a fan of SKE48 or if you want the ending theme music video for “Yankee Rock” and are a fan who enjoyed the drama “Majisuka Gakuen 4”.

But on it’s own, “Green Flash” Type-S is a good single but having been spoiled by many other AKB48 CD+DVD releases, I was hoping for more.  Overall, if you can find this CD+DVD cheap, then “Green Flash (Type-S) is worth checking out! Otherwise, if all you want is the music, then go for the theater edition release which is much cheaper.



General Disclaimer:

J!-ENT has not received any compensation from the company for this post. J!-ENT has no material connection to the brands, products, or services that are mentioned in this post.

For Product Reviews:

For product reviews, J!-ENT has purchased the above product for review purposes or may have received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free by the company which in no way affects our reviews, may it be positive or negative. We only recommend products or services we have tested/reviewed and believe will be good for our readers.

For Advertising:

Some of the links in our posts are "affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, J!-ENT will receive an affiliate commission.

J!-ENT is disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”